COPD Dude Goes to a Chiropractor with the Impulse Adjusting Instrument, by J.D. Meyer

I taught for 20 years, especially Developmental English/Writing & ESOL–before my COPD got too bad. Now I’m on SSDI with Medicare, Medicaid, and Cigna Health Spring insurance. I have gone to chiropractors on a regular basis twice in my life–after my asthma diagnosis and need for an albuterol nebulizer, but before the COPD verdict: emphysema and bronchitis.

Bratcher Chiropractic is a father-son team and the only Cigna-approved chiropractors in Tyler, Texas. The chiropractic science has really changed in the last fourteen years! There’s no more roller ball on a table kneading your back like bread dough, followed by the doc popping you with his hands in the three regions of your back. Nowadays, there’s a wild little machine that looks like a home construction tool called the Impulse Adjustment Instrument, and it is wonderful! The pamphlet describes the benefits as (1) Extreme Speed, (2) Controlled Force, and (3) Frequency Tuned Waveform.

The Extreme Speed refers to the Impulse being “twice as fast as other adjusting instruments, and 100x faster than manual adjustments. The gentle thrust is faster than the body’s tendency to tighten up and resist the adjustment.” Believe me, my neck used to be very resistant to popping by hand! Controlled Force describes the “three different force settings for different parts of the body and to treat patients of all ages.” Frequency Tuned Waveform shows that the “Impulse is specifically tuned to the natural frequency of the body that joints, muscles, and nerves respond.” The impulse is “controlled by micro-computer circuitry housed within the device.”The Impulse Adjusting Instrument is patented and an FDA (Food & Drug Administration) registered device.

So far (three visits), my doctor has commented that I only have 50% movement in my neck and a dislocated rib cage! It turns out that the bad lung crowd is vulnerable to such rib cage issues. The sessions are really faster than chiropractic treatments of yesteryear.

By the way, I quit driving a car several years ago, and have become a recognized authority on the the Tyler Transit. It’s a journey starting with Purple South (or Red South), followed by Yellow SW. This time on the way back, I just took one bus to the second hub–Bergfeld Center and walked the 1.3 miles home.

When I got home, I happily made the following announcement, “I just overcame a mental block. For the first time, I walked home from Bergfeld Center (actually the CVS to be exact). I walked down Broadway to beautiful Charnwood, then crossed over to Houston from tiny Niblack. I had just been to Bratcher Chiropractic. My FEV (Forced Exhale Volume–peak flow meter) was a staggeringly high (for me) 350 upon entering my place!!….Many times I’ve walked home from La Michoacana and Downtown–roughly the same distance. …Ready for the I have a Dream event Downtown at 6:30.”

I will be going to Bratcher Chiropractic twice a week for several weeks. While I wait for the Yellow SW to return, I’ve gone to a Wal-Mart grocery store in search of strong cheap red wine and beer, granola bars, and spicy Taki snacks. My backpack contains reading and writing material, along with my lined canvas bag for groceries–and even lunch. So my adventure is more than medical, it’s travel to an unfamiliar part of the city for me.

I’m keeping my G.P. and pulmonologist updated on my progress–a practice that reveals my love of teaching and research. Remember those middle back vertebrae are connected to your lungs. Consider getting chiropractic treatment if you have asthma or COPD.

Leave a Reply

