Yo Trump, Here’s Why I Like Mexico & Even Nixon Better Than You

Barely a day goes by without hearing of Donald Trump, the Republican front-runner for President, making an insulting remark about rivals, undocumented immigrants, and/or foreign trade/other countries. On the other hand, Richard Nixon opened relations with China after 2 1/2 decades of isolationism.
Later Nixon was forced to resign because of the Watergate scandal. However in retrospect, the crime seems more pathetic than wicked because Nixon’s gang had no need to spy on the George McGovern group because there was no question Nixon would rout McGovern in the the 1972 election. I aged from nine to 15 during this time period- upper elementary to high school.
My vague memory of Nixon’s poor economic policies at the time were summarized in the soul classic, “Fish Ain’t Bitin’,” by Lamont Dozier.
Yet Donald Trump’s deportation proposal would cost $200 billion to deploy. Forcing Mexico to build a Second Great Wall could lead to a war with a neighbor that is our third largest trading partner.
The “plan” neglects that many undocumented immigrants overstay their temporary work visas. Rich businessmen like Trump can use US government forms to ship unskilled temporary workers to the US.
During World War II, the U.S. enacted the bracero program, so we could have temporary farm and construction workers from Mexico while the US and the rest of the Allies fought the Axis powers: Germany, Japan, & Italy. Sergio Gutierrez, one of my best friends in high school, had a dad who volunteered to fight in the Air Force for the U.S.A. as a machine gunner in a bomber plane. Yes, Sergio’s dad was a Mexican citizen at that time.
Let’s fast forward to getting my secondary teacher certification and doing plenty of substitute teaching in ESOL, Bilingual Elementary, and eventually Spanish through 4th year. I should admit that my fashion statement was avant-garde–long hair in the back and business casual. So I subbed where the preppies weren’t, sorta like White Flight in reverse…lol. I started studying Spanish, and my first lesson to me was how to order a meal in a taqueria.
I cherish those memories of little kids waving at me in the cafeteria that had me as a sub at that school or another school in Garland ISD or Dallas ISD. Then there were those two times playing soccer at recess. Once I found a giant riding lawn mower part in the field, so I told a good little boy to take it to the principal. Then there was the time I uncharacteristically played goalie (I’m really a halfback or fullback). I leaned on my knees since my asthma was bad, and I bought my first albuterol nebulizer after school. Much later, I added my published articles on clothes http://lessonplanspage.com/laspanishclothesunitjhmo-htm/ and Spanish music http://lessonplanspage.com/LASSMusicSpanishMusicListeningComprehension912MO.htm/ to the real teacher’s lesson plans.

Leave a Reply

