Twitter at 2300 Followers: Happy Easter & Have Many a Satori

I crossed the 2000 follower mark on Pi Day, March 14th. Yet I waited until now to provide my third Twitter Tutorial article for various reasons. The best reason was my near daily participation in Slice of Life, a teacher narrative on Word Press, sponsored by Two Writing Teachers. Usually, I tweeted my daily slice and posted it on Facebook too.

However, my worst reason for putting off the next Twitter milestone article is being scattered, like many an #ENFP to cite my Myers-Briggs Type Indicator #MBTI profile.  I’m so ready to tweet and re-tweet on many topics.  I’ve become fairly well-known for spreading research on health, often dubbed “Health Care Social Media” (#HCSM). After all, I’m on disability for COPD and asthma; sleep apnea was discovered later once I got a pulmonologist when Medicaid kicked in–after disability and Medicare in my case.

Becoming named as a member of various lists has been a wonderful honor, and you’ll find out if someone has put you in a list through Twitter’s notifications branch. I’m nearing 60 lists, and many are in #HCSM. As you can tell, I’m a firm believer in providing one or two hashtags per tweet if at all possible. I edited my Twitter biography (for only the second time in 3 1/2 years) in order to include health and social media as among my interests. Pure social media has been a key joy for quite a while, and I’ve connected with exciting leaders in that field too.

Developing a major Twitter friendship leads to extra Twitter success as well. Let’s just say that she’s an M.D. with a Master’s in Public Health Administration. I strive to re-tweet new followers and still check on the others as much as possible, especially the other thought-leaders. Yesterday in a fit of focus, I looked for educators among my following because finding a textbook publisher is my prime goal. I’ve returned to working on my proposal. Inspiring quotes and playing with the Twitter trends for the day are fun. It’s seems like almost everyday is a “World Something Day.”

In closing, Happy Easter. I went to Sunday School at my church today for the first time–a time for reading and discussing in a round table of two dozen members. Being an extrovert, I had a lot to say–even more than I expected.

I explained the nature of the satori, a breakthrough of thought that changes one’s paradigm on an issue. (1) The first example was a straight forward explanation of someone else’s satori. I wrote an account of the J.C. Watts Convocation Address at Texas College, way back in 2005. Mr. Watts was a Wishbone quarterback at the University of Oklahoma before becoming a Republican congressman. When his son asked him if he could put this burst balloon back together, Mr. Watts realized that the relationship of God to human should be like Daddy to child–quite conservative. (2) The next satori was very veiled because it’s highly personal and has to do with narcissism, but not me. (3) The last was a realization gained from a Facebook chat on a key difference between ENFPs and INFPs. {First I was merciful enough to ask who knew what the four dimensions of the MBTI before listing the four pairs}. The extroverts aren’t judgmental enough with this intuitive-feeling-perceiving combination, while the introverts are too judgmental. Sure enough, that synopsis accurately described my being initially entertained by the antics of an eccentric, dysfunctional friend before becoming irritated over his downside that included screaming indoors–a somewhat veiled report, squarely in between #1 and #2.

It’s time for some lunch before Fareed Zakaria GPS is re-run at 12 noon, Central Standard Time. Then it’s back to the textbook proposal. May y’all have some satoris too.

2 thoughts on “Twitter at 2300 Followers: Happy Easter & Have Many a Satori

    • Thanks for the publisher tip, L-Squared. I’ve heard of Heinemann, but “Stop calling me, Shirley,” (Leslie Nielson in “Airplane.”…lol I’m about to click the link.

Leave a Reply

