Slice of Life 2015: Birthday Party in One Hour/Two Great Dishes

Stanley’s Famous Bar-B-Q will be giving me a birthday party again in one hour. It’s a favorite place for parties. It had always been a respected barbecue place, opening in 1959. When Tyler finally went damp in December 2012, Stanley’s expanded to include a covered deck and a bar area. Their profits zoomed enough for the owner, Nick Pencis, to win the prestigious small business of the year in all of North and East Texas. Anyway, I have a cool and classy hangout that’s only two doors away.

I becoming a better grocery shopper, as I go through the discounts at Brookshire’s near SSDI Day. Plus I usually go to a food bank. I used to get Meals on Wheels. I have gobs of generic Tupperware and save jars.

Let’s look at my mixed bean dish. The main ingredient was a giant can of Ranch Style Beans with jalapenos. Then I added some garbanzos, corn (prefer hominy), diced tomatoes with peppers, and fresh chopped onions and cilantro. Then I shake the usual spices: garlic powder, oregano, black pepper, ground cumin, and thin red hot sauce from La Michoacana. A touch of beer and vegetable oil and beer keeps it from burning. This dish can be mixed with a variety of meats, such as chicken, sausage,, and beef fajita.

Today I pan fried some discount pork chops that had been marinating in beer. I added my leftover garbanzos, corn, and diced tomatoes, as well as chopped onions. It’s not a re-run of the previous recipe, for I added some ready-made sliced potatoes and cabbage. Then came the firm tofu–a great spice and sauce absorber and protein stretcher for meat. I used the same spices as in the mixed bean dish, except for ground cumin.

Anyway, I’m watching “Two-and-a-Half-Men” with Charlie Sheen. Looking forward to my birthday party. It begins as soon as the second Charlie Sheen ends. Wish me luck. I remembered to wear olive green slacks because it’s St. Patrick’s Day.

3 thoughts on “Slice of Life 2015: Birthday Party in One Hour/Two Great Dishes

Leave a Reply

