Slice of Life: My Birthday, the 16th: Installing a Faster Modem & More Cyberspace Adventures

To celebrate my birthday (50-something),, I finally installed my faster Suddenlink modem with considerable phone bank assistance. Much to my surprise, I got the Internet working but my phone turned off. I’m not mechanical. A service rep stopped by my place, and he got my land line working again.

Meanwhile, I got a “wild hair” and decided to search for publishers who’ve attended South by Southwest (#SXSW) in Austin, Texas. Sure enough, I found Soundfabric, a group headquartered in Prague with branches in Berlin and Toronto. Their motto is “Open Source is Freedom of Speech.” They’re on Twitter and Linked-in too. I sent my first composite chapter of eleven chapter sections published as articles, and they’re still trying to get it on there. Wish me luck.

Meanwhile I thanked close to 50 Facebook friends for wishing me Happy Birthday; a few Linked-in pals said Happy Birthday too–including my only-known cousin.

This day has already been complicated. Mariette Hartley guest starred on The Rockford Files re-run this morning. Jim had no shortage of romantic guest star ladies half his age; no wonder I’m a fan.

4 thoughts on “Slice of Life: My Birthday, the 16th: Installing a Faster Modem & More Cyberspace Adventures

  1. A faster modem! That changes everything. We used to live out in the country and couldn’t get wireless at home. When we first moved into the city and could have it, I was stunned at how quickly everything moved!

    Good luck with your writing. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! A faster modem is a nice self present. I like the easy, conversational tone of your birthday account. Presumably, now, at this hour, you’re at the BBQ place?

    • Typically I get to the BBQ place at 6 after two “Two-&-a-Half Men” reruns. Glad you liked my “easy, conversational tone.” That modem had been sitting in a chair for at least two or three weeks. Not mechanical and was gun-shy of trying. Did better than expected.

Leave a Reply

