March 3rd #SOL15: It’s Payday!

The 3rd is payday–actually disability check day, COPD in my case. It’s a day of scurrying around to pay bills and buy groceries. I no longer drive. I walk or ride the city bus. I’ve become so well-versed in the bus routes and times that I was recruited to switch to the new transportation committee of the East TX Human Needs Network (ETHNN). Our other committees are education, health, employment, and housing.

My first trip this morning was the Family Dollar to buy really cheap stuff, such as paper products, liquid bath soap, and a bar of dark chocolate–all really a dollar. After a beer stop for later in the day, I visited a former student who works at the cell phone store in the same shopping center. Now she’s married with two kids, some twelve years later after our Developmental English class. I went to her dad’s regional Mexican karaoke a few Fridays ago and sang a couple myself a norteno song and a duranguense song.

Then it was time to watch a compulsory Rockford Files episode–starring the late, great James Garner as a private detective in Los Angeles who lives in a mobile home on the beach. After some rooting around on the Internet with my cellphone alarm keeping track, I galloped to the Purple South bus and headed for Brookshire’s Grocery in Bergfeld Shopping Center–the second hub of the Tyler Transit too. Besides splurging on food, that’s where I get my cashier’s check for rent. Recently, I’ve become a smart shopper who really looks for bargains in the mailbox insert with pen in hand. Sorting heavy groceries into two canvas bags (one lined) preceded the wait for the ride home. I sat next to my new bus friend who was grappling with a scratch-off game.

Once I got home, it was time to lay down with my albuterol nebulizer, while watching news on MSNBC with the volume turned up., for I was exhausted. Then it was time for one more errand before a couple of episodes of “Two-and-a-Half-Men,” in the early Charlie Sheen. Finally, I went to visit friends at Stanley’s Famous Bar-B-Q, and I live just two doors away–really convenient to a well-known restaurant. Now I’m hurriedly typing this Slice of Life while watching J*A*G, the Navy lawyer show.

I prefer living in business districts over residential. My neighborhood is called Midtown, aka. The Hospital District. I can reach stores, pharmacies, restaurants, banks, and doctors fairly easily–even by COPD standards. https://twowritingteachers.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/11454297503_e27946e4ff_h.jpg

3 thoughts on “March 3rd #SOL15: It’s Payday!

  1. Wow, I got the rhythm of your day out. And had to look up COPD. Exhausting I’m sure, but your write and tackle things with so much energy. “I galloped to the Purple South bus.”
    A dark chocolate bar for a dollar? Nowhere in California. I live downtown in the sprawling city of SJ and I like being in the thick of things. I’d wither away out in the suburbs.

Leave a Reply

