Slice of Life: March 2015

Sunday, March 1st: I always watch Fareed Zakaria GPS at 9 and 12 CST on CNN while tweeting https://twitter.com/bohemiotx

This is my first Slice of Life entry, and it happens on Sunday. Rather than talk about our East Texas ice melting and causing rolled eyes throughout possible readers in New England and Colorado, I’m going to talk about today’s Fareed Zakaria show. Fareed can interview anybody major, and he’s gone to Jordan to talk to King Abdullah II. I watch Fareed Zakaria GPS (Global Public Square) before and after church: 9 & 12 CST on CNN.

First we saw, “My Take”–this time it was Fareed’s Washington Post article on how the Cold War was much tougher than the current war against the death-cult ISIS terrorists. Communism had appeal for a wide range of people at one time, including the Western World. I tweet while I watch TV, and I go to Fareed’s Twitter site during his show. My Twitter name is @bohemiotx. I looked up an article on the name “Daesh,” an Arabic term for ISIS to deny them legitimacy as another type of Islam. It means “bigots who try to impose their views on others.” Now that term is getting popular in high circles throughout the US and Western Europe. In fact, a US general re-branded Isis, ‘Daesh’ after requests from regional partners, according to The Guardian–a British e-journal.

Last week, I heard about Think Again Turn Away, https://twitter.com/ThinkAgain_DOS a US government social media site designed to combat the Daesh. So I introduced them to Ulil Abshar Abdalla, the founder of Islam Liberal, the Jaringan’s of Indonesia. Ulil followed me back! I tweeted a couple of other messages with photos from this new State Department site too. One was a photo of the ISIS/Daesh war on music, shown by a bunch of burnt drums. The other photo (really a cluster of four) showed Kurdish folks in raggedy conditions being nice to pets–cats and dogs.

Last week, I crossed the 10K tweets mark and 1900 followers, having joined in October 2011. As you can see, I am a politics and Twitter fan. You’ll find out more about my world during March 2015.

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life: March 2015

  1. TV and tweeting at the same time. You shared the story of your thinking and taught me an important new word today. Tweeters, good ones, think fast on their feet. I enjoyed your delight at connecting people and agencies.

Leave a Reply

